Florida Personal Injury Law
If you or a loved on has been injured in the state of Florida through no fault of your own, it is not only your responsibility to act quickly, it is in your best interest legally to take immediate action. In a court of law, if it can be shown that you did not take swift action contacting an attorney, that can be used as a defense against your case, potentially hindering your ability to receive maximum compensation-- it could even ruin your case altogether.
Florida Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations refers to the period of time during which a person needs to file a lawsuit. If your lawsuit is not filed within the statute of limitations, you will very likely not be able to pursue any legal action.
With several exceptions, the statute of limitations for a personal injury case taking place in Florida is four years. This four year period in which you have to file your lawsuit in Florida's civil courts starts at the date of your accident. If you have experienced an injury that didn't immediately impact you, but you started having issues at a later time, this amount of time can be factored in when determining your four year statute of limitations period. It is very possible that your period may be extended. If, for whatever reason, you do not file your case within the four year period, there is a strong chance that the court will not hear your case at all. An interesting exception to this statute of limitations period is if your injury claim is levied against a city, county or state government, in which case, the time limit will be three years.
If you would like to examine the statute of limitations code in its entirety, it can be viewed at the official website of the Florida Legislature.
Florida Statute of Limitations Exceptions
There are several instances where the statute of limitations for a personal injury-related case is not four years.
- Professional Malpractice: 2 years
- Medical Malpractice: 2-4 years (Learn more
- Libel/Slander: 2 years
- Wage and Overtime disputes: 2 years
- Wrongful Death: 2 years
If you have experienced any form of personal injury, it is very important that you speak with an experienced Daytona personal injury attorney as soon as possible, to discuss the facts of your case, and to determine if legal action is required. At Vasilaros | Wagner, our trained attorneys will guide you every step of the way, and help ensure that you will not miss your statute of limitations deadline. Call today at 386-777-777 to schedule an appointment-- we are here to fight for you!